Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

Slightly Green

leave a comment »

Today is Match Day.

If you didn’t know, this is the day that medical students both dream and fear. During their fourth and final year in medical school, Match Day is when they find out if they were accepted to a residency program… thereby “matching.”

For those who match, it really is a joyous time- all that hard work is finally paying off and two days are what stand in the way before finding out which program has offered an acceptance.

Those who don’t match, not only is it a blow to the ego… but it leaves you in panic mode, and the next two days become a crazed scramble to find… something.

I’m no longer on that path, and for the most part I’m okay with that. However, it’s days like this that make me think “what if?” and wonder if I made the right decision.

I’m pretty sure I did. This accelerated program is insane… and this is only for 12 months. Imagine if I attempted four years of medical school. I could have very well have had a nervous breakdown. Or have been kicked out because honestly, I can’t be serious. I always find distractions to keep me from doing what needs to be done.

Anyways, congrats to all of you who matched today. And good luck to those of you who didn’t. In the end you’re getting what you want. You’ll be physicians, and you’ll be seeing the likes of me out in the hospital this summer.

This should be fun.

Written by stereotypicalone

March 15, 2010 at 14:47

Leave a comment