Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

And It Begins Again

leave a comment »

Yesterday we had our first class of the semester. Med Surg 2. I am closing in on graduation, with really only this class (the others I hear are a cake walk) standing in my way. In my usual fashion, I strolled in late. Sat in the back, and tried my best to pay attention to the lecture. Not too bad, but I had the feeling I would really have to study this time around.

Today should have been a clinical day, but instead we all met at school to get our hospital orientations… again. Considering we keep going back to the same hospitals, why do this again? Well, it seems that the hospital I will be at for the next month has changed their orientation for student nurses. And… their presentation is based on one that was presented by a student from last year’s class. Go ABSN.

I’m going back to the ICU. Pretty happy about that, I really dislike the medical floors. I need that constant, move from one thing to the next that I would expect in a unit such as the ICU. In reality, I’m sure that I’ll have a lot of down time. I am after all, just a nursing student. I am limited in what I can do, and what I can do is always supervised. It can be frustrating at times, because you get the feeling that you’re really not doing anything. But I see their point- I can totally screw up and they would have to deal with it.

The group I’m in seems pretty good- pretty much the top of the class… and me. I truly feel like the weakest link in the group, and I hope I don’t screw up. SO thinks I’m crazy to think that way, and constantly reminds me of how most of the class usually turns to me when it comes to schoolwork. I think they’re nuts, I really have no clue what I’m doing. If anything, it’s the all those science classes I’ve taken over the years that are somehow eeking out of my brain. But really… I have no clue what I’m doing.

After letting them sit on the floor of my bedroom for the last two months, I’ve finally put my uniforms into the wash. I also bought a new pair of shoes for clinical, I can’t take those nursing shoes anymore. Nursing Mates kill your feet, and they’re supposed to do the opposite. I decided to get one of those exercise shoes, think MBT/Sketches/Dr. Scholl’s. There are so many brands out there hawking their take on the shoe, so you should find something in your price range. On my last rotation, Psych, all the nurses wore them and kept going on and on about how wonderful they are during the shift. Unlike Danskos (which I would rather wear), the is little chance you’ll turn your ankles on these. They take some getting used to, because you feel like you’re going to fall backwards. But it’s supposed to help with your posture, and give your a good workout. Considering I’m on my feet most of the day, it should be a crazy good workout.

With that done, I’m off to do some studying. I really am. I have motivation again.

Written by stereotypicalone

January 20, 2010 at 13:50

Leave a Reply

