Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

My Diagnosis

leave a comment »

Stress related to insanity of ABSN program as evidenced by crying, muttering to nobody in particular, and a general “gloom and doom” disposition.

Not exactly NANDA appropriate, but that is how I’ve been the last few weeks.

Compared to my other classes, these last few weeks have been a breeze. Classes later in the day, no clinicals, no real studying, weekends free. As easy going as it was, this week alone has truly started to freak me out.

Me. The one who gave the presentation on how we shouldn’t stress or we’ll end up burning out. I did well on the presentation, by the way. For throwing something together rather quickly, I think it was one of the more enjoyable presentations given.

The paper, same thing- very quickly thrown together… but I have no idea how I did on it.

The exam. Oh, that exam. Yes, I’ve written on here how I thought I failed a test. But this time I am pretty darn sure that I did bad on it. And I’m not the only one… everyone I talked to when I left that classroom felt the same exact way. That test was completely out of the blue, and I hope they curve that sucker.

This was for our Nursing Concepts class. The professors teaching it were nice and all… but they didn’t teach Sure, they kinda covered the first eight chapters, but it wasn’t teaching. We discussed for the most part. The chapters after that were done by everyone in the class, and that was it. There was no input after each presentation by the professor to supplement what was presented. It was just present… any questions? Next chapter.

There was no guidance whatsoever… and I hope they aren’t shocked to see that we didn’t do as great as they thought we should.

Moving on… nothing I can do about that class now.

I have my Health Assessment Practicum tomorrow. I’m a litle concerned about it because I have to do a head-to-toe assessment and make sure I hit all the necessary tests. Not to mention what I’m doing as I’m doing it and to explain why each part of the assessment is important. My partner and I have been working on it, but we never able to completely go through a full assessment. Right now I’m going through Youtube videos to help me how I should plan it out.

Deep breath.

I can’t wait until Med-Surg now.

Written by stereotypicalone

September 16, 2009 at 16:17

Leave a Reply

