Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

NCLEX Practice Question of the Week

leave a comment »

Here is the weekly question posted on the NCSBN Learning Extension:

A client with pneumococcal pneumonia was started on antibiotics 16 hours ago.  During a nurse’s initial evening rounds the nurse notices a foul smell in the room. The client makes all of these statements during their conversation. Which one would alert the nurse to a complication of the therapy?

  1. “I have a sharp pain in my chest when I take a breath.”
  2. “I have been coughing up foul-tasting, brown, thick sputum.”
  3. “I have been sweating all day all over my body.”
  4. “I hot off and on especially when I lie in bed.”

The correct answer is : 2 – I have been coughing up foul-tasting, brown thick sputum.

Color changes of sputum, are signs that the infection is progressing.

Written by stereotypicalone

August 15, 2009 at 15:12

Posted in NCLEX

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

