Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

What I Think So Far

leave a comment »

This is the fourth week of classes.

Where has the time gone? Didn’t I just start this madness yesterday?

I thought I could write more frequently, but as you’ll see soon-to-be nursing students, your time is limited. If you’re in a traditional nursing program, you have more leeway. If you’re in an accelerated program, there is no slack. You can’t hang back and play catch up when test time rolls around. This is how I used to be, and I got away with it. This program? Good luck. Keeping with that mindset is setting yourself up for failure.

Perhaps if I break things down a bit it may explain things more.

Studying

If you don’t know it yet, figure out the best way to study now. This will save you headaches and bad grades. I’ll readily admit I didn’t know what to do until that first test. And if you read previous posts, you know how that went down. So what did I do after that? I stopped feeling sorry for myself and got myself into study mode. Instead of heading home right after classes, I go straight to the library and stay until closing, Monday – Friday.

I’ve also changed the way I study. That first week I blew off. It’s just introduction, how hard can it be? So I did the bare minimum, placing more emphasis on the book and minimal on the lecture. Wrong wrong wrong. Now, I focus solely on the lecture notes, and only refer to the book if I need more explanation on a subject.

I’m an audio learner, so I need to talk things out so they make sense to me. I don’t record lectures, but I do record my explanation of the lecture notes. I upload it to my ipod and listen whenever I have a free chance. Is it a little tedious? Maybe… but I understand the concepts, and that’s what is important.

Tests

Between the two classes I’m taking, I have had four tests in the last three weeks, with one more to go this week. My classmates have attempted to try and form study groups for these tests, but I think it was too late and most people had formed their own groups within the class and stick to them. I study until the day before and that is it. No studying the morning before the test, no thinking about the test. Walking into the room with a clear mind really does wonders.

When the test is over, don’t even talk to me about it. I don’t want to think about it. It’s over, it’s done with… so please dont’ pull me into this “so what did you think the right question was for number ten? I thought it was C…” conversation. The more I hear people talking about it, the more worried I feel about my answer choices. We know what we know, end of discussion.

Lab

I love lab. Love love love it. I don’t like the clinical instructors that show us the demos, but I do like the lab instructors. If I need to learn a certain way, then teach me that way- I don’t need to know how you do it in the real world. Realistic method is fine and dandy, but if that method is going to fail me for my certification, don’t bother. If you’re given an outline on how they want the skill demonstrated, follow that outline exactly. In my program, it’s the lab instructors who grade you, not the clinical instructors.

We have three wonderful women running the lab and I think they are very fair. Some of my classmates may disagree with me on this, but if they see you are putting in the time and effort to learn these skills, you won’t have a hard time. Be prepared to know why we do things, and the vocabulary that goes along with it. A lot of this is common sense, and remember to bring it back to the patient.

Clinicals

I honestly have learned nothing in my first clinical. I’m at a nursing home and it’s hard to get signed off on skills when they’re almost all completed when we hit the floor. And unlike patients in a hospital, residents of a nursing home are constantly busy. They have breakfast, they go to the beauty parlor, they have rehab, they have activities, etc. etc. What am I supposed to be learning here? How to sing and dance? Wednesday is my class clinical with PP as my instructor… thank goodness.

Life Outside of School

What life? Really, I’m only partially joking on this. I leave my house at 7:30 every morning and don’t get back until after 9:00 in the evening. Class, lab, library, sleep. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat. I am tired and feeling so disconnected with my friends. There is one that I do catch up with on Fridays (we went all out this past Friday to celebrate my passing the first pharmacology test) but everyone else is gone. I’m sure they understand what I’m going through, but it sucks sometimes to hear about things and know you can’t join in because of school.

I am so grateful for my SO. School has turned me into this short-tempered emotional roller coaster. He is willing to listen to my rants and does his best to cheer me up when I don’t think I will make it.

Hmm… so those are my thought on things for now. I’ve made it this far, so things must be going well… right?

Written by stereotypicalone

June 15, 2009 at 19:00

Leave a Reply

