Stereotypical

Nursing. School. Life.

Pride and Corrections

leave a comment »

Like many community hospitals out there, the one I work at uses hospitalists. If you don’t know what a hospitalist is, they are the physicians that admit patients into the hospital from the Emergency Room when their primary doctor won’t admit, doesn’t have admitting privileges at the hospital, or they don’t have a primary at all. They admit them to the hospital and take care of them for the length of their stay. Hospitalists can be moonlighting internists or part of a physician group (which my hospital uses). If you want a clearer explanation of hospitalists, please check this page out.

When I got to work last night, this was the report that the evening shift gave me:

“Well, we started off pretty bad but as you can see we were able to clear the rack. Ultrasounds were done on beds seven and twelve, and we’re waiting to get reports back. Bed ten started drinking about half an hour ago and CT is already aware when he’ll need that scan. The hospitalist is working on bed six’s admission and he’s got three more to go after that.”

“Which hospitalist is on tonight?”

“Dr. Adams.” The clerk motioned to the reading area and I took at look at the doctor. He looked vaguely familiar, and I’m pretty sure I had worked with before. We said our goodbyes and the clerk clocked out and left.

The hospitalist wrote up the admission orders on the patients he was called down for and departed for other parts of the hospital. I filled out their admission requests, and notified the nursing supervisor of the admits that Dr. Adams had completed.

About an hour later the night doctor asked me if Dr. Adan was around.

“Dr. Adan? Who’s that?”

“The hospitalist.”

Whoops.

I scooted over to registration to let them know that they needed to change all of the admission packets. I also had to call the nursing supervisor to let her know (and in turn the floors)  that the hospitalist was indeed Dr. Adan and not Dr. Adams.

“I was wondering about that,” the nursing supervisor remarked, “becaue I thought it was strange Dr. Adams had all these admissions and I haven’t seen him in the longest!”

It turns out this really wasn’t a big deal. Paperwork can easily be corrected, and in this case it was. A quick call to rectify a report is easy peasy. However, the bottom line in this is:

When in doubt, ask.

With so many different hospitalists, I normally go up and ask for their name, so this doesn’t happen. This time, I didn’t do that because I was so sure that I heard the clerk say “Dr. Adams,” and not “Dr. Adan.” It seemed right, so it had to be right… right? Wrong-o. It never hurts to ask, and in no way will it make you look foolish.

Written by stereotypicalone

April 11, 2009 at 19:57

Posted in work

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

